I’m tweeting! – Really!

twitterI held out for a while, I really did. I thought Twitter was something that would come and go – a fad. How can anyone make use of this means of communication? And why would they? 140 characters and thousands of people tweeting about sitting on the porch, having a drink or whatever. How could this be useful at all?

Well, I am a convert! I am not tweeting about the minutia of my life – at least not often. I have figured out that it can be a useful and inexpensive business marketing tool (by inexpensive, I mean free). I have been tweeting for a client for a couple of months. Our followers are slowly increasing and our web site has been tracking that people are clicking in from Twitter – so something seems to be going right.

I have to say that I enjoy coming up with tweets each day. Finding a way to be succinct and get a useful message across or convey some meaningful information, is a challenge. I have chosen the tact of using twitter to build the company’s reputation and show it as a good resource, rather than have every tweet be a sales pitch. Not that I don’t pitch a link to a product page every now and then, but only after many tweets with links to useful and pertinent information.

Take a look at what I have been doing at http://www.twitter.com/wnlsafety. This is a small piece of the marketing plan, but is working quite well – with a great ROI, since the cost is near zero. We have a small following that grows each week and have had dozens of clicks into the web site – and orders placed as well. Pretty good for a skeptic!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

